Editorial Board 2019
Senior Editors: Megan Lee, Emily Reed-Keefe
Junior Editors: Leana Sottile, Joseph Dickinson
Faculty Advisors: Dr. Shira Klein, Dr. Charissa Threat
Managing Editors: Jake Naturman, Bo Kent
Voces Novae: Chapman University Historical Review is a peer-reviewed journal founded in the Spring of 2009 by the Alpha Mu Gamma Chapter of Phi Alpha Theta at Chapman University. The mission of Voces Novae is to provide undergraduate students a forum to contribute original research to the body of historical knowledge. We seek to bring students and teachers of history together in an intellectual dialogue with the goal of promoting and assisting historical research and analysis. Through the introduction of new and diverse voices in historical research, Voces Novae supports the mission of Chapman University to foster inquiring, ethical and productive lives as global citizens.

Current Volume: Volume 10 (2018)


This issue marks the tenth anniversary of Voces Novae: Chapman University Historical Review, the award-winning, student-run e-journal published by the Alpha Mu Gamma Chapter of Phi Alpha Theta. This has been a year of incredible change for this journal, in both policy and format. The publication of this extraordinary issue would not have been possible without the support provided by Chapman University's outstanding faculty and staff. We would first like to thank Kristin Laughtin-Dunker, Dr. Jana Remy, and Professor Eric Chimenti for their incredible help and patience in guiding us through the transition to this new digital platform. Their support has been invaluable in making this e-journal a continued success. In addition, we must thank our faculty advisor, Dr. Shira Klein, as well as the entire faculty of the History Department, who have served as mentors and have always encouraged students to pursue their passions and produce to the best of their ability. Dr. Jennifer D. Keene, Dr. Gregory A. Daddis, Dr. Robert Slayton, Dr. Alexander Bay, Dr. Erin Mosely, Dr. William F. Cumiford, Dr. Jeffrey Koerber, Professor Brenda Farrington, Dr. Marilyn J. Harran, Professor Mike Fraga, Dr. Vanessa Gunther, Dr. Thomas Reins, Dr. Liam O’Mara, and Dr. Patrick Cecil have inspired us to develop our skills as budding historians, writers, scholars, and global citizens. We would also like to thank our dedicated team of student editors who were willing to devote their time to this journal, and especially recognize our Junior and Managing editors, who navigated this year's changes patiently and helped make this edition a success. The authors selected for this issue have worked with primary source documents, ultimately creating a series of papers that reflect not only their own extreme diligence, but also the impressive conduction of primary research for which Chapman students are known. We are thankful to those who have contributed to this publication of Voces Novae: Chapman University Historical Review, thus adding to the ever-growing body of historical knowledge. Paige Gulley & Natalie Figueroa Senior Editors