

Chapman University Digital Commons

Chapman Press Releases 2003-2011

Chapman Press

5-19-2009

2009 Faculty Honors and Awards Announced

Chapman University Media Relations

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.chapman.edu/press_releases



Part of the Higher Education Commons, and the Higher Education Administration Commons

Recommended Citation

Chapman University Media Relations, "2009 Faculty Honors and Awards Announced" (2009). Chapman Press Releases 2003-2011. 95.

https://digitalcommons.chapman.edu/press_releases/95

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Chapman Press at Chapman University Digital Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in Chapman Press Releases 2003-2011 by an authorized administrator of Chapman University Digital Commons. For more information, please contact laughtin@chapman.edu.



2009 Faculty Honors and Awards Announced

ORANGE, Calif., May 19, 2009 -- Chapman University has announced its close-of-academic-year honors for its faculty, including the highest award given annually to a faculty member, the Wang-Fradkin Professorship, and the four Valerie Scudder Awards for achievements in teaching, scholarship and advisement.

This year's recipient of the prestigious **Wang-Fradkin Professorship**, chosen by ballot by her colleagues campus-wide, is **Catherine Clark**, **Ph.D.**, professor of chemistry. The Wang-Fradkin Professorship is the highest honor Chapman can bestow on a faculty member. Granted in memory of Hua-Cheng Wang, professor of political science, diplomat, and expert on international law; and Cheng-Mei Fradkin, distinguished teacher, scholar, and administrator, the professorship is a two-year monetary award to further teaching and scholarship.

Professor Clark's research interests lie in environmental and aquatic chemistry, specifically the photochemistry of dissolved organic material in coastal and ocean waters and the sources, distribution and photochemical reactions of pollutants in local waters. She is carrying out ongoing work and research into runoff pollutants in the ocean waters off the Orange County coast. Born in South Africa, she holds her B.S. degree from the University of Natal in Durban, South Africa and her Ph.D. in physical chemistry from Boston University.

The **Valerie Scudder Awards** recognize outstanding achievement in teaching, scholarship, advising, and/or service by a faculty member at Chapman University. Each recipient will receive a monetary award in recognition of their accomplishment. These are the recipients of the 2009 Valerie Scudder Awards as chosen by their peers for exceptional contributions to the university:

- Daniel Bogart, professor of law
- Lynn Horton, Ph.D., assistant professor of sociology
- Christopher Kim, Ph.D., assistant professor of chemistry
- Michael W. Martin, Ph.D., professor of philosophy

Other major 2009 faculty awards announced by Chapman include:

The Excellence in Teaching Awards:

- Edward R. Dana, Ph.D., assistant professor of psychology
- Warren de Bruyn, Ph.D., associate professor of chemistry
- Kimberly White-Smith, Ph.D., assistant professor of education

The Excellence in Scholarly/Creative Activity Awards:

• James Blaylock, assistant professor of English

- Jennifer Funk, Ph.D., assistant professor of biological sciences
- Ekaterina Karniouchina, Ph.D., assistant professor of marketing
- Mihaela Vajiac, Ph.D., assistant professor of mathematics

The Excellence in Service Award:

• Virginia Carson, Ph.D., professor of biological sciences

In addition, **Karl Reitz, Ph.D.**, professor of mathematics and sociology, was awarded emeritus status.